Fun-ish Fair Isle

Hello again dear lovely reader! Back again for more news of my crafty adventures I see. Well, I bring tidings of great crochet joy, for I have indeed completed my Valentine hearts bunting, so here it is: ta dah!

image

Turned out quite lush, did it not? It measures over three metres in length and shall be strung across my lounge, bringing a warm, toasty, loved-up glow to the room. Yes, feel the love people!
What’s that I hear dear reader? Are you wondering what’s on my hook/needles now that my little heart-felt project has been completed? Well wonder no longer, for I am currently knitting a fab Fair Isle pair of fingerless gloves in grey, black and cream. Ooh, I do love a bit of Fair Isle, mainly because it’s a pattern and you know I have a thing for patterns don’t you! Here’s a little mid-glove pic, just to give you a ‘taste’ for them…

image

Unfortunately, as Fair Isle patterns need oodles of concentration and I knit whilst watching the telly, I can’t always work on said gloves when there’s a programme/film involving a lot of ‘visual’ plot references (subtitled programmes/films are a knitting/crochet dilemma/ nightmare for me). Therefore, I have another, easier project on the go too, this being a snood ( don’t you just love saying that word?) for my daughter. It’s knitted in American moss stitch over an even number of stitches and has a four row pattern:
Row1: knit 1, purl 1, knit 1, purl 1, to end of row.
Row 2: as row 1.
Row 3: as row 1.
Row 4: purl 1, knit 1, purl 1, knit 1, to end of row.

Don’t you just love learning a new stitch? Plus it’s from another country too, so it’s a bit like having a little cultural adventure! (No, you’re right, I don’t get out much.) So here’s a little pre-snood shot of my latest work-in-progress, or should I say snood-in-process?

image

Oooh, I forgot to mention that the snood (still love saying that word) yarn has little metallic threads of gold in it! I just love watching it sparkle under the lights in the evening; sparkly things always make me smile!
I also bought the latest issue of Simply Crochet magazine at the weekend and can’t wait to start on the fab flamingo! My hook is poised for flouncy flamingo frippery!

image

Plus the free gift with this issue was a HUGE button which made me feel a bit like one of the Borrowers. Now, what crafty loveliness can I rustle up that I could adorn with  a HUGE button…

2 thoughts on “Fun-ish Fair Isle

Leave a Reply

