Yarn Yacht Sets Sail for a Sale…

20140408_131619

Ship ahoy dear reader! For I have finally finished knitting my sail boat pillow from my very own pattern design. I hope to knit some more before my next craft sale, maybe a monochrome version in black and white, or even a pirate one in red and black! I also rather like the reverse side, what do you think?

20140408_171029

I also have some thrilling news to share with you dear reader, for my quest for a vintage Singer sewing machine is over, as I discovered a rather lovely one in a charity shop last week. It’s a little beauty and I just love to gaze at it and stroke it whenever I walk past! It’s a sheer joy to use, so quiet and smooth and definately restores my inner tranquility whenever I trundle away on it…

1397050822464

I sewed up one of my first sewing designs this week: a cloud cushion made from Ikea fabric. I wasn’t intending to add any stitching to the cushion at all, as I only wanted to test out my pattern design to start with, but when it turned out okay I couldn’t resist adding a little something to the front! I stitched a few extra petals and stamens onto the flower print, as well as embroidering a little phrase, although the pink stitching doesn’t show up too well in the photo, aplogies for that.

20140413_164252

I have already cut out another cloud cushion from an old vintage pillow case I picked up in a charity shop and this time I plan to add a few crocheted flowers to the front, along with some embroidery too. Here’s my inspiration…

20140414_095856

I also managed to complete the little cross-stitched notebook that came free with last month’s Cross Stitcher magazine. I just love the vintage typewriter on the cover and now that I have found my vintage Singer, a vintage typewriter has now become the subject of my new quest, so watch this space!

20140408_163046

Been art journaling this week too dear reader, this time inspired by Oasis song lyrics. This first piece is a mixed media of watercolour paints, ink pens and tissue paper, with lyrics from ‘Live Forever.’

IMG_20140404_123845

In this next piece I also used watercolour paints and ink pens, along with coloured pencils this time. The lyrics are taken from the song ‘Roll With It.’

IMG_20140404_124330

I have been busy decopatching some polystyrene eggs today in monochrome patterns, in preparation for decorating my monochrome Easter tree! But more of that egg-citing news next time! Must craft on, keep making dear reader!

5 thoughts on “Yarn Yacht Sets Sail for a Sale…

  1. jenny

    The colours of your next cloud cushion look absolutely fantastic! Really beautiful colour palette and anything with crochet is super bonus!
    I also love your yacht, expertly done and look forward to seeing alternative versions 🙂
    Jenny
    prettycolumn.blogspot.co.uk

    Reply

Leave a Reply

