Presenting Pedro Penguin, One Chilled-out Chap

IMG_20140630_195346

Well hello there dear reader! I do so hope you are in a happy-smiley-sunny frame of mind and that Pedro the Penguin has put you in a laid-back, summer hols kind of mood. He’s crocheted from an amigurumi booklet free with this month’s issue of Simply Crochet magazine and he definately brings a warm, sunny glow to my blog, bless him.

I also had a go at hooking the granny square of the month from the very same issue of Simply Crochet mag; this one’s called Granny Florence…

IMG_20140630_181706

Aren’t granny squares fab? I have to confess that I am becoming an little bit addicted to them and the speed with which I completed my teeny-tiny granny square cowl is probably all the evidence you need dear reader, to prove my obesession! I just couldn’t stop crocheting the darling wee bundles of cuteness!

IMG_20140630_181245

I know it’s the wrong time of year for woolly cowls and I do hope I haven’t caused you to break out in a sweat dear reader, but I am rather pleased with it and aren’t the amazing little granny squares just adorable? Truly smitten…

I also had a bit of a baking bash in the kitchen this week. First of all I rustled up a yummy-scrummy sweet-treat in the form of my Coconutie-Cakie…

IMG_20140622_132514

If you fancy having a bake of my Coconutie-Cakie yourself dear reader, then here is my recipe:

Coconutie-Cakie

Ingredients for the sponge:
6oz soft cooking margarine
6oz castor sugar
6oz self-raising flour
1tsp baking powder
3 eggs (beaten)
2oz dessicated coconut
2tbsp milk

Ingredients for the buttercream icing:
8oz icing sugar
3oz cooking margarine
A few drops of vanilla essence
2tbsp milk

Method:
1. Preheat oven to Mark 4/350°F/180°C.
2. Grease 2 sandwich baking tins and dust with flour.
3. Cream the margarine and castor sugar together until pale and fluffy.
4. Beat in the eggs, a little at a time, with a spoonful of sieved flour to prevent curdling.
5. Sieve in the flour and baking powder and whisk well.
6. Fold in the coconut, along with the 2 tbsps of milk.
7. Divide the mixture evenly between the two baking tins.
8. Bake in the oven for 20 minutes or until golden brown and starting to come away from the edges of the tins.
9. Allow to cool on a cooling rack once removed from the tins.
10. Once cool make a buttercream icing and use half the buttercream to sandwich the sponges together and the other half to cover the top.
11. Sprinkle the top with dessicated coconut and then spread the silver balls evenly to form a pretty and pleasing pattern.
12. Now admire your pretty cakie for as long as you can before you devour it! Hopefully not in one sitting…especially not all by yourself…

Well that’s all for this time dear reader chum. Let me know if you have a go at the cakie, or the teeny-tiny granny squares, or even Pedro the penguin, bless him. I’ll leave you with a couple of pics of my other yummy-scrummy baking efforts: cranberry and white chocolate fab flapjacks and oh-so-lush chocolate chunk and hazlenut cookies. Keep on making…

IMG_20140629_174745

IMG_20140629_173928

2 thoughts on “Presenting Pedro Penguin, One Chilled-out Chap

Leave a Reply

