Been Bath, Been Baking, Been Busy!

Well hello there dear reader! Yes indeed I have been to beautiful Bath recently, I have been baking cake and cookies, I have been crocheting and knitting, so I have indeed been busy-busy-busy! First of all I will let you peruse a few pics of my holiday in the beautiful city of Bath; where I of course visited the Roman Baths…

IMG_20140803_124610

… where it was just so breathtaking to stand on the terrace with the Abbey in the background, surrounded by tourists from all over the world. Then there was the Abbey itself…

IMG_20140802_184404

…with its inspiring stained glass windows…

IMG_20140803_125432

…and superb ceiling…

IMG_20140803_125640

There was yet more awesome architecture with The Circus…

IMG_20140803_125135

…a sensationally spherical street, along with The Royal Crescent…

IMG_20140803_130118

…which also had a rather interesting Georgian museum at No.1. So if you are a fan of architecture, as I am, then Bath is right up your street! I also visited the Jane Austen centre, truly inspiring and well worth a visit, but particularly fab for me as I studied Austen’s novels for my English Literature A Level. Plus you also get to dress up in a bit of Austen-like finery if you so wish! Needless to say dear reader, I failed to find my Mr Darcy there…

20140806_210634

Whilst in Bath I also had my first Bath Bun at the Bath Bun Tea Shop…

20140729_160344

…and a famous Sally Lunn Bun at the Sally Lunn teashop, the oldest house in Bath…

20140727_154814

…and the bun is as big as a plate and you have to eat it with a knife and a fork! I had mine with milk jam, which tasted just like salted caramel…mmm…

When I returned to my humble abode I was inspired to do a bit of my own baking so made some sultana cookies and an apricot and almond loaf cake, from my own recipe…

20140806_145602

If anyone would like the recipe just let me know and I’ll endeavour to include it in my next bloggings. As for crochet, I’ve been busy making up a couple of free kits from two of my favourite magazines: Simply Crochet which involved a charming ooh-ooh owl key charm…

IMG_20140806_195941

…and Mollie Makes’ cheerful cherries brooch…

IMG_20140806_195529

As for knitting, I have just started a lacy snood with some yummy yarn I purchased at the fab ‘Wool Bath’ shop; it’s by Debbie Bliss and is a mix of cotton, silk and linen and yes I can hear you saying “Ooh, sounds pricey!” dear reader, but it was half price in the sale and I only needed 100g for this cute little project…

IMG_20140806_200457

Looking lush me thinks, and it’s super-silky-soft too! I also bought a couple of balls of cotton yarn in a rather perfect-pastel-peach…

20140806_184019

…and I’m rather liking the pink and peach together actually, bit like a peach melba! Well I’d better leave you in peace now dear reader, as there has been rather a lot of pics this blog, so you’re probably a bit overcome with all the visual excitement and need to sit down quietly with a cuppa, oh and some cake of course, to restore your inner calm. I shall leave you with a positive pic of a pretty pavement pansy; proof that even the powerful pavement slab can’t prevent the pansy from it’s destiny of bringing prettiness to a grey, grey world…

IMG_20140803_124400

2 thoughts on “Been Bath, Been Baking, Been Busy!

Leave a Reply

